Green Hill Cemetery was organized and incorporated in March 1873 and opened in spring 1874 on twenty-nine acres. The cemetery was designed and established to be a beautifully landscaped area for all of Franklin County and the surrounding communities to enjoy. The unique design used the concept of creating ‘green space’ and a park-like setting. This design concept evolved to ultimately take burial out of the churchyard.
In May of 1939, Green Hill Cemetery was donated to the Waynesboro Beneficial Fund Association. The cemetery then became a non-profit organization with all of its earnings reserved for improvement and maintenance of the grounds.